Help with portable client...

thespamcenter

Help with portable client...

Post by thespamcenter » Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:41 am

I work in a lab environment where I can have time to play FFXI, but the problem is I'm not going to get the same PC all the time so I need to "install" it everytime I want to play. I have a portable solution on a USB 3.0 drive that works fine except for the client. Server works amazingly well, bravo to for the documentation which is superior to most Fortune 500 IT companies :)

I have all the FFXI related files, but I wonder if I can start stripping away files/folders that aren't necessary along with coming up with W7x64 registry and .dll batch files. I did google a bit and found the older registry guides and .dll batch scripts but they aren't working so I don't know if that's because of a mistake on my end or FFXI itself has changed over the years. I would also like to focus on a thinner client build as well. Do we really need PO and misc files for a FFXI client to connect to DSP?

There was an application a long time ago I worked with that would monitor a PC, let you install something, and then tell you all the changes made by the application. I can't find it anymore, and if anyone knew a more modern technique that works with virtual machines I could probably figure this all out on my own.

bluekirby0
Developer

Re: Help with portable client...

Post by bluekirby0 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:51 am

The FFXI client definitely needs a lot of stuff handled for install/uninstall and there are considerations based on the OS and architecture as well...i.e. a Win XP install is different from a Win Vista/7 install...and a Win 7 x86 install is different from a Win 7 x64 install.